# Reusing deleted Note IDs

**URL:** https://discuss.blues.com/t/reusing-deleted-note-ids/3488
**Category:** Notecard API
**Created:** [March 7, 2026, 3:07pm UTC](https://discuss.blues.com/t/reusing-deleted-note-ids/3488 "2026-03-07T15:07:38Z")
**Posts on this page:** 3
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

### Author: ![Jakov](https://sea2.discourse-cdn.com/flex020/user_avatar/discuss.blues.com/jakov/32/1714_2.png) [@Jakov](https://discuss.blues.com/u/Jakov)
#### Post date: [March 7, 2026, 3:07pm UTC](https://discuss.blues.com/t/reusing-deleted-note-ids/3488/1 "2026-03-07T15:07:39Z")

</div>

Hi,

for Database Notefiles, is it possible to reuse the notee IDs that have been deleted?

I get `{note-noexist}` when checking for it, but `{note-exists}` when trying to add a new note but with a Note ID that has been deleted before.

Thanks!

---

<div class="post-metadata">

### Author: ![tjvantoll](https://sea2.discourse-cdn.com/flex020/user_avatar/discuss.blues.com/tjvantoll/32/231_2.png) [@tjvantoll](https://discuss.blues.com/u/tjvantoll)
#### Post date: [March 9, 2026, 11:19pm UTC](https://discuss.blues.com/t/reusing-deleted-note-ids/3488/3 "2026-03-09T23:19:00Z")

</div>

Hey @Jakov,

Yes.

When you use the `note.delete` request, Notecard sets a `deleted` flag on the Note so that it can sync that deletion with Notehub. You can still view the delete-pending Note by running a `note.get` request and setting the `deleted` flag to `true`.

After you sync the deletion the Note ID becomes available again, and you can use it with `note.add`.

TJ

---

<div class="post-metadata">

### Author: ![Jakov](https://sea2.discourse-cdn.com/flex020/user_avatar/discuss.blues.com/jakov/32/1714_2.png) [@Jakov](https://discuss.blues.com/u/Jakov)
#### Post date: [March 11, 2026, 8:17am UTC](https://discuss.blues.com/t/reusing-deleted-note-ids/3488/4 "2026-03-11T08:17:05Z")

</div>

Yes, this is what I have observed as well. I’ve just tested this moments after I posted the question, as I wanted to get an official confirmation.

So only after a sync, do we get to reuse the ID of a Note that has been previously deleted.

Thanks!
