Notefile contents post deletion

Hi Blues, I have a question regarding the behavior of data in a notefile once that file is deleted. I am working on a data collection device that uses a notecard to send payloads to the cloud.

If some attached device makes an outbound note file with some number of notes, and then deletes the notefile once those notes have been sync’d with notehub, would the data in those notes still be viewable on notehub?

I was using a unique notefile for each observation, that way I could use a file.changes request to see if an observation has been fully synced to the server, but I ran into a 25 notefile limit on my notecard.

Hi @Matthew_Cocke and welcome to the Blues community!

Yes, the data stays in Notehub. When Notes in an outbound (.qo) Notefile sync from a Notecard to Notehub, Notehub stores each one as an event. Deleting the Notefile on the device doesn’t touch those remote events.

Also be aware that you also don’t need a separate Notefile per reading to know when one has reached Notehub. Notecard deletes a .qo note only after Notehub has received it. So you can add every reading to a single Notefile and check how many are still waiting to be synced w/ the file.changes API for example.

Hope that helps!
Rob