No processor COM port when following STM32 // Cellular Function Board tutorial

Hello!

This is my first time working with hardware and I’m not sure where I’ve gone awry. Apologies if I’m asking something blindingly obvious, but I did a fair bit of debugging prior to coming here. :slight_smile:

I am trying to do this tutorial: Sensor Tutorial with C/C++ (Arduino/Wiring), SparkFun MicroMod STM32 Processor, and SparkFun MicroMod Cellular Function Board - Blues Developers and am using Windows 10.

I am not seeing what I feel is correct behavior after uploading a sketch. I will describe the steps I’ve taken to debug.

Prior to the tutorial, and prior to attempting to upload a sketch, I plugged a USB cable into the function board, went to https://dev.blues.io/terminal/, and connected to my device. The console displayed two warnings. The first one suggested I set my product UID and the second suggested I update my firmware. I updated my product UID through the terminal. My firmware was very out-of-date and I was unable to update it through the online terminal. Instead, I went to Notehub, devices, notecard firmware, and told it to update to the latest development release. This succeeded and I am currently on v7.2.2.16518

After updating the firmware, I began to explore the tutorial mentioned above.

So, to start, the tutorial shows a USB cable plugged into the main board rather than the function board. I don’t understand the functional difference here, and I was previously plugged into the function board, but I swapped to being plugged into the main board as to follow the example.

After plugging it in, I put the device into DFU mode by holding boot and tapping reset. I am able to confirm this works well by going into Device Manager. I see an entry “STM32 BOOTLOADER” under Universal Serial Bus devices.

I upload this code:

#include <Notecard.h>
#define productUID "com.gmail.Meo.DDR:feed_connect"
#define usbSerial Serial

Notecard notecard;

void setup() {
  delay(2500);